WHAT IS PASSOVER

wha-is-passover

The Jews celebrate Passover for 8 days during spring and during this period it is expressly forbidden to consume fermented food or beverages using barley, oats, pickled, rye and wheat. Even utensils used to prepare or cook foods using these ingredients are forbidden during Passover.

DAIRY

dairy

Any dairy product can carry a kosher label only when milk is sourced from kosher animals. Strictly conservative communities may specify strict supervision known as Cholov Yisrael, which is particularly applied in the manufacture of cheese using rennet derived from animal intestines or stomachs.

DAIRY

bread

Bread can carry kosher on two levels. Bread or similar products should follow regular kosher criteria in addition to the two levels. These two levels are bread patter means bread made by a non-Jewish professional baker and pass Yisrael, prepared and baked by Jews according to the old Old Jewish ways. Orthodox Jews would insist on pass Yisroel, while others would find the pass acceptable to the pastor.

MEAT

Meat

Only specific animals and birds are considered kosher according to the Bible. Buffalo, goat and sheep are kosher. Chicken, turkey, goose and duck are kosher. Slaughter of animals and birds should follow Jewish laws. Blood is required to be extracted from the salting or roasting process and the slaughtering and salting process is monitored by the rabbi.

GRAPES

Grapes

Wines made using grape juice, wine vinegar and dried or fresh grapes need to deal with Jews from beginning to end to qualify for the kosher label. Any product that uses grape flavor or grape additive requires kosher certification

PAREVE

Food that does not carry dairy or meat components is called parev. Fruits, vegetables, grains, fish and eggs are considered eligible for the Parev label. Fruits and vegetables should be washed thoroughly so that there are no insects of any kind. For foods carrying the Parve label, care must be taken that they are not processed into equipment that is used to process dairy or meat products at temperatures above 40 degrees. C. Although fish are considered kosher, not all fish are kosher, only species of fish that have wings and scales that can be easily removed are considered kosher. Tuna, sole, fillet and salmon are kosher. Shellfish, eels, sharks, monfish, haw, catfish and sturgeon are non-kosher. By products such as roe and fish oil, as well as gelatin, fish is certified kosher only when sourced from coarser fish. Similar eggs are kosher provided they are obtained from kosher birds and do not have blood spots.