What Does Pareve Mean?
Pareve (pronounced /pəˈreɪv/) is an adjective that is derived from the Hebrew word for “neutral” or “zero” (parah). It is used to describe a food or drink which is neither meat nor dairy. Pareve foods are inherently kosher or kosher certified. The main difference between pareve and kosher is that pareve food is not inherently kosher or kosher certified. Pareve foods are not necessarily considered kosher-for-pareve, which means that they are kosher, but they are not designated as kosher for pareve. Pareve is often used as a synonym for vegan.